The World according to Rich

Short Story Challenge

Greetings and hallucinations, I still haven’t finalized how I want to go about my weekly short story challenge but I think I might make it mutable.

I think I’m going to post voting options and tally them by end of week for the next weeks Challenge.

I suddenly have the feeling I’m embarking on Whose Line… the Short Story Challenge.

If I get no votes / nudging / harassment I’ll put out something standard like 1K to 5K Story my choice of whatever.  If I get a minimum of 5 voters in any one category then majority wins in that category and I’ll attempt to apply it to that weeks story.

The Weeks story will be a rough not finished story meaning it will need edits

It will be minimum 1000 Words (unless voted differently)

It will be due on Sunday Evening 8 PM Central Time US (unless voted differently Sprint challenge)

I reserve the right to veto anything too extreme.  (Erotica is auto vetoed until further notice sorry I don’t write the sexy bits)

I’m still finalizing a few things as far as the challenges go but I’m going to start putting out some material just to get it out and practice writing while I finalize how I want to do the challenge.

I’m willing to take suggestions as to other guidelines to apply to these challenges.  If you want to play along with the home version of the game feel free to do so and post it and send me a link so I can guide people your way.

This is an accountability exercise to me.  I beg of you gentle or in some cases not so gentle reader please help nudge me along keep me accountable and help me build up to the point I can stop calling myself a wannabe writer and call myself a writer.  Too long have I sat here and mumbled about wanting to share my stories and keep backing down.  Maybe I’m a hack and a crap writer that should not be allowed to touch pen to paper for the safety of mankind, I don’t think so but then again in HS I thought I was casanova though I didn’t have a date until I was 18 so I have been wrong before.  I’m tired of being a wannabe and the only way to stop being one is to actually do.  This is me attempting to do.

 

For those that participate in getting my ass to write thank you, for those that choose not to I still say thank you for your time in reading this.

 

2 responses

  1. Sounds awesome. I’ll be glad to cast votes and read the mayhem that ensues. 😉

    March 27, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  2. There seems to be some unseen catalyst of accountability for my own writing as I think about your post.
    Reality slapped me in the face, while Past was screaming in my ear and Father Time was wagging his crooked finger at me.

    I will happily follow, encourage and support you.

    Now, I’m off to ponder if I shouldn’t participate…

    March 27, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Leave a Reply

